Google started quietly logging you into Chrome with latest update, reports say

Adjust Comment Print

Users of Google services like Gmail have noticed they have been automatically logged in any synced to Chrome, without expressly logging into Google's browser.

This policy change was identified by cryptographer Matthew Green, also a professor at Johns Hopkins University and a scientist with the Zcash project, who wrote in a blog post that the change was sufficiently anathematic to user security and privacy that he will no longer be using the Chrome browser.

This update automatically signs users in if you use any other Google services.

Google's latest Chrome release has set off major privacy alarm bells. Now it states the data is saved only when you sign into the browser and "sync" it with your Google account.

While Chrome browsing histories are not now synced to people's Google accounts, the fear is that this will happen in the near future and could become a major threat to privacy.

While we might not go that far, there is bound to be some confusion among Chrome users regarding this change. While it is important to note that what frightened users the most - the slurping of browser history - won't start automatically, the problem is that even if a user has happily been using Chrome throughout its 10-year life while declining the offer to sign in, that option has silently been taken away. "A few weeks ago Google shipped an update to Chrome that fundamentally changes the sign-in experience".

But now, he said, the sign-in occurred without asking the user or even offering any notification; the only warning was that the user's profile picture would appear in the upper right-hand corner of the browser window.

Second accuser in standoff with GOP over Kavanaugh testimony
While another boy watched, she says, Kavanaugh tried to pull her clothes off and covered her mouth when she tried to scream. He said Democrats "go into a back room and they talk with each other and they laugh at what they're getting away with".

If you don't like the idea of Google's increasing data collection about your online habits, then it may be time to think about moving to something a little more secure with a cute red panda logo.

Logging in to Chrome associates people's browsing histories with their Google accounts.

Google changed its privacy policy over the weekend to reflect the fact that synchronization is only enabled if you explicitly choose it.

Google referred Business Insider to a series of tweets posted early on Monday from Adrienne Porter Felt, a Chrome engineer and manager. "In addition to stellar security, it includes all the usual features you would expect from a mobile browser, including incognito browsing, browser bookmarks, and password management".

Chrome can sync your browser history across all devices, meaning your history is stored on its servers. This could lead to cookies and other browsing data being synchronized under an account you have nothing to do with.

The company acknowledged the changes late on Sunday, but stressed that users needed to consent to a sync before their browser data was transferred. "But when pressed on the actual details, nobody seems quite sure", he wrote.

According to ZDNet, the change has angered Google users.

Comments