Dissidence hits both Congress and BJP as candidate lists announced in Karnataka

Adjust Comment Print

Soon after the Congress party made the list of its 218 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections public, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's party is heading for a full-blown revolt.

Till now the party has released the names of nominees for a total of 154 constituencies.

The party announced its second list of candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections, which are scheduled for 12 May, 2018, on Monday.

Numerous 154 candidates declared in the first two lists were ministers & MLAs when BJP won Karnataka in 2008, but also face criminal & corruption charges.

While CM Siddaramaiah's stamp was evident in the Congress list, his request to contest from two seats - Chamundeshwari in Mysuru and Badami in Bagalkot district of north Karnataka - was turned down.

Moto G6 Play images posted on Instagram with specs
It's main shooter is supposedly a 13 MP one and the selfie camera is an 8 MP one, still with a LED flash for selfies in the dark. On the hardware side, the handset will feature an octa-core Snapdragon 450 chipset, 4 GB of RAM and 64 GB of internal storage.

The BJP leader said that those who follow Indian politics are remembering the 2013 Congress's Jaipur convention where then party President Sonia Gandhi, then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Rahul Gandhi were sitting on the dias.

The choice of candidates by Congress shows how the party is trying everything possible to ensure it secures a majority in the upcoming polls to retain power in the state, one of the last few still under its rule. Mahadevappa, who wanted to contest from another seat, will now have to contest from T Narsipurelection: 15 women in Congress list.

The Congress while browbeating its achievements also highlighted about the non-performance of the Modi Government. Supporters of five-time MLA DB Inamdar were angry because the party has not announced its candidate from the Kittur constituency. Lashing out at his statement, Siddaramaiah spoke to media persons at Mandakalli Airport in the city and said, "The votes are not in the pockets of Kumaraswamy to decide who will triumph in the elections". However, this has led to a furore with many party workers, upset with ticket distribution, ransacking the Congress office in Bengaluru today.

The BJP has 48 MLAs in the outgoing Karnataka Assembly, including four from the regional outfit called the Karnataka Janata Party which was floated by Yeddyurappa in December 2012.

Vowing to remember the village till its last breath, the JD (S) leader promised not only a primary health centre, but also an underground drainage scheme for Udbur.