Thakur, Pandey fuel India's revenge against Sri Lanka

Adjust Comment Print

India bounced back with a win against Bangladesh in their next game but it's Sri Lanka whom they would want to beat to settle the score.

Thakur returned with impressive figures of 4/27, while young off-spinner Washinton Sundar (2/21) scalped two wickets as India made a strong fightback after leaking runs in the first 10 overs.

Wet outfield delayed the start of the 2018 Nidahas Trophy encounter between Sri Lanka and India on Monday. Rahul joined a select group of nine other batsmen to get out in this rare fashion in the shortest-format of the game.

"Thisara Perera has been appointed to captain the Sri Lanka team in the next two games in the ongoing Nidahas Trophy, following the ICC's decision to suspend captain Dinesh Chandimal for two games for an over-rate offence", the Sri Lankan board said in a terse release.

But, the wheels fell off with Tharanga's dismissal and Sri Lanka proceeded to lose a further six wickers for 44 runs over the last eight overs to finish with a disappointing 152-9 - Shardul Thakur taking 4-27. Rohit's enviable limited-overs' record against Sri Lanka counted for nothing in the series-opener as he was sent back for a duck.

Bangladesh were ruled to be one over short of their target, so their captain Mahmudullah was fined 20 per cent of his match fee, and each of his players were fined 10 per cent. Dhawan has scored 288 runs in his last 5 innings for the Men in Blue.

Khloé Kardashian's extravagant baby shower is all about pink
I've seriously thrown out the window since I reached my eighth month of pregnancy ." . Kim Kardashian/SnapchatKim Kardashian shows off her brown hair on Snapchat.

The fans in India will be able to watch the live telecast of the 4 T20I on DSport channel. "The hearing was attended by the match officials and the Sri Lanka cricket team management", it added.

The only concern for his side is the dipping form of skipper Rohit Sharma.

India made one change to the side that won against Bangladesh on Thursday, bringing in batsman K.L. Rahul in place of Rishabh Pant.

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Suranga Lakmal (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera and Dhananjaya De Silva.

After 14 overs: India's score is 114 for 4.