Here's first challenge for President Rahul Gandhi: 5 Meghalaya Congress MLAs resign

Adjust Comment Print

Referring as to how his party has succeeded in making its presence felt in Manipur elections by winning four seats and bagging the post of deputy chief minister with BJP, Sangma said,"We are confident to form the government by winning maximum number of seats for the party from the Khasi and Jaintia hills region of the state".

It could be a major boost to BJP ahead of the upcoming Assembly elections in the Congress bastion as apart from the five from Congress, three other MLAs have also joined its ally National People's Party swiftly just a day after they resigned.

The eight legislators include Sniawbhalang Dhar (Nartiang), Comingone Ymbon (Raliang), Hopeful Bamon (Sutnga Saipung), Stephanson Mukhim (Amlarem), Prestone Tynsong (Pynursla), Remington Pyngrope (Mawkynrew), Rowell Lyngdoh (Mawkyrwat) and Ngaitlang Dhar (Umroi). Two Nationalist Congress Party legislators, one member from the North-East Democratic Socialist Party and seven independent legislators make up the nine independents supporting the Congress-led government.

The resignation of the five Congress MLAs has reduced the strength of the ruling party in the 60-member Meghalaya assembly to 24 as they come days after another party legislator PN Syiem also quit from his seat in the house.

"Eight MLAs submitted their resignation to me at the office of the Speaker today.

But he is the most progressive leader", said a Congress functionary who supports the Chief Minister.

NPP national president and Lok Sabha MP, Conrad K. Sangma said all the eight legislators would formally join the NPP on January 4 at a public rally in Polo grounds here.

Date horror story: Woman rips pricey Andy Warhol artwork from walls
He made headlines the same year for parking a tank outside of his home , causing a brief fight with his homeowner's association. A Texas woman has been charged with criminal mischief after reportedly going on a drunken rampage during a first date.

Among the others who are present in the Election Committee are Chief Minister Mukul Sangma, Vincent H. Pala, James S. Lyngdoh, D.D. Lapang, Debora C. Marak, M.M. Danggo, R.C. Laloo, Kennedy C. Khyriem, Cherak W. Momin, Charles Pyngrope, R.V. Lyngdoh, Joplin Scott Shylla.

Mr Gandhi also formed an election committee, campaign committee and media committee of the Nagaland Pradesh Congress in view of elections in the state, AICC general secretary Janar-dan Dwivedi said in a statement.

"The main problem is that he (Dr Sangma) hardly consulted".

Out of the five Congress MLAs of Meghalaya, who resigned, four were ministers in the state government and were dropped by Chief Minister Sangma for "incompetence".

"Mukul is a good leader".

Hitting out at the chief minister, Rowell said, "The autocratic style of functioning of the chief minister had made it hard for me and others to function in the government". "He is courageous whatever he says we had to do it", Tynsong added.